28
Jun
08

Samson GTrack First Impressions

With all of the Podcasting and streaming video I have been doing lately I figured itGTrack_stand_cw-web was time to get a good sounding microphone. I have been researching a lot of products and I decided to go with the Samson GTrack.

The GTrack is a USB condenser microphone with a built-in audio interface, allowing simultaneous input of vocals along with guitars, bass, or keyboard while also providing monitoring through an on board headphone output. I am using the Bose QC3 headphones to monitor the sound quality and I have to tell you the sound is rich and full. 

Setup of this device was very easy, Vista instantly found the device and installed the drivers. After that all I had to do was to set the GTrack as the default device in Skype and Ustream.

I called Dave Ciccone and Michael Manna to test the unit and they each said that it sounded great. I then did a Ustream broadcast and had multiple people tell me that the mic sounded great.

The G-Track ships with a desktop mic stand, swivel stand mount, USB cable and all the cables needed to connect any musical instrument with a standard 1/4 inch or RCA output. The G-Track ships with Cakewalk’s Sonar LE  software.

After I use it for a while I will post a full review but first impressions is that this is going to be a great addition to my home studio.

 

GTrack Features

  • Large diaphragm studio condenser microphone
  • Mic and instrument/line gain control with a clip LED
  • Stereo input jack for instrument and line level signals
  • Stereo headphone output for no latency monitoring with level control
  • Threee position headphone switch for stereo, mono, computer monitoring
  • USB bus-powered and compliant
  • Audio I/O cable, USB cables and desktop microphone stand included
  • Bundled with Cakewalk’s Sonar LE DAW software
  • Vista Compatible
  •  

    The G-Track lists for $129.00 and so far it is worth every penny. I got it on sale for $99 at a local music store. I also ordered a boom stand which should be in sometime next week.

    For more information on the GTrak visit the Samson site here.


    1 Response to “Samson GTrack First Impressions”


    1. June 29, 2008 at 10:20 am

      The mic sounded great when we talked over Skype yesterday. I can’t wait to hear how it sounds on Wednesday night for MT. You can beat this kind of mic with the included extras for $100.


    Leave a Reply

